Best Book Series for Teens

From fantastical worlds to romantic comedies, young adult books have it all. The presence of all these elements in a series you can fully immerse yourself into is the icing on the cake. Young adult book series is enjoyed by teens and adults alike. The books commonly deal with themes like friendship, first love, and identity. However, many also tackle darker topics like loss, abuse, and mental health.  

Best books for youngsters and Adults

In this article, we will discuss the benefits of reading teens book series and novels. Furthermore, we will list the seven best young adult series for your child to read. 

Why Do Teens Read Young Adult Book Series?

Teenagers want to read these books to take a peek at what the adult world has to offer. Young adult book series is a spectrum along which kids lose their colorful innocence and venture into darker themes for older audiences. Between the ages of 12 and 18, teens slowly figure out what is right and wrong. Therefore, they can be given access to books that consider and engage with moral issues and standards. 

Additionally, to survive in society, kids must learn to engage with people, which requires the skill of empathy, and empathy requires imagination. Diverse stories create complex imagination that allows teenagers to develop empathy for those who are different from them. 

Why Should Parents Read Books to Teens?

Young adult novels present parents with a window of opportunity to connect with their teens. Reading young adult novels can remind you what it felt like to be a teen. Most parents have left the uncertainty, insecurity, drama, excitement, and frustration of teenage years behind them. Your child may seem foreign to you because you have forgotten what you were like at that age. Books centered on teenage characters might help bring back memories of that time and help you empathize with your child.

YA gives adults a peek at the issues with which children are struggling. Teens find the world a scary place full of first loves, looming independence and constant change. The novels give them away to frame some of their fears and imagine their possible future selves to form their adult identities.

7 Best Teens Book Series

1. Lunar Chronicles

Lunar Chronicles

Author: Marissa Meyer

This series retells classic fairy tales in a futuristic setting. The first book, Cinderis a retelling of Cinderella, set in New Beijing. Here, androids and humans mingle and live together. Cinder, a character in all the books, is a part-cyborg and mechanic. She has a mysterious past and faces abuse by her stepmother because of her stepsister’s illness. 

After meeting the handsome Prince Kai, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle and a forbidden romance. Caught between independence and duty, she must uncover secrets of her past to protect her future.

Titles in Lunar Chronicles Book Series

  • Cinder (based on Cinderella)
  • Scarlet (based on Red Riding Hood)
  • Cress (based on Rapunzel)
  • Fairest (based on The Evil Queen from Snow White)
  • Winter (based on Snow White)

2. Grisha Trilogy

Grisha Tril

Author: Leigh Bardugo

This series is set in the nation of Ravka, torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a dangerous region populated by monsters. During a trip across the Fold, refugee Alika Starkov learns that she carries a secret power, a way to defeat the Fold. Therefore, she is recruited to join the Grisha, an elite fighting force of Ravka. 

However, nothing in the world is how it seems. With darkness approaching and the whole kingdom depending on the untamed power, Alina will have to uncover the secrets of the Grisha and her heart.

Titles in Grisha Trilogy Book Series

  • Shadow and Bone
  • Ruin and Rising
  • Siege and Storm

3. The Red Queen Series

Source- Google Images

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Set in a world divided by blood-red or silver is a story following a young girl Mare Barrow, from the poverty-stricken Stilts. Her life is instantly changed when she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Surrounded by people she despises, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a dangerous power akin to those of silver blood. Afraid of her potential, the Silvers declare her to be a forgotten princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. 

Determined to help the Red Guard, Mare works silently to bring down the Silver Regime. However, in this world of betrayal and lies, will Mare be able to go against her own heart to achieve her goals? 

Titles in The Red Queen Series

  • The Red Queen
  • Glass Sword
  • King’s Cage
  • War Storm 

4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before tells the story of Lara Jean, who has never confessed to her crushes. Instead, she writes them letters and hides them in a box. One day, she discovers that someone mailed her secret box of letters, leading to a confrontation with her crushes from her past. 

As she learns to deal with her past loves, Lara Jean discovers something good to come of those letters.

Titles in To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Book Series

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
  • P.S. I Still Love You
  • Always and Forever, Lara Jean 

5. Arc Of Scythe

Author: Neal Shusterman

Set in the far future, a world with no hunger, disease, misery or war. Death does not occur due to natural causes, thanks to the advancements of science. Scythes, who are the only ones who can end life, control the growing human population.

Citra and Rowan become an apprentice to a scythe, a role that neither wants. These teens must master taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

Titles in Arc Of Scythe Book Series

  • Scythe
  • Thunderhead
  • The Toll 

6. The Dark Artifices


Author: Cassandra Clare

Following the events of The Mortal Instruments series, this young adult book series follows new Shadowhunters who work together to find out who has been killing the humans in the story. 

Titles in The Dark Artifices Book Series

  • Lady Midnight
  • Lord of Shadows
  • Queen of Air and Darkness 

7. Moribito 

Author: Nahoko Uehashi

Moribito transports the readers into a world never seen before. In the story, the culture and myth of the Japanese merge with the Western fantasy tradition for a novel.

Balsa, a warrior and wanderer for hire, rescues a boy thrown into a raging river. Now Balsa must protect the boy, Prince Chagum on his quest to deliver the egg of the water spirit to its origin 

They encounter various hindrances as they make their way to their destination. The deadliest of them all is the egg-eating monster Rarunga and the prince’s father.

Titles in Moribito  Book Series

  • Guardian of the Spirit
  • Guardian of the Darkness

These are a few of the best young adult book series available. Pick one and enjoy reading it with your kid. 

Share with your friends

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *